The Royal St George’s Golf Club in Sandwich was founded in 1887 by Dr William Purves – who wanted a golf club in the south of England to rival St Andrew’s in Scotland.
St George’s is ranked among the world’s leading courses. Occupying a unique place in history, it was the first club outside Scotland to host the Open Championship back in 1894, when the winner was JH Taylor. The course layout has changed little since the early years, providing a stiff but fair test to golfers of all abilities.
The club also has a pro shop, offering a wide range of men’s and women’s golf clothing, equipment, gifts and merchandise.
Crown Sports Lockers was asked to provide new changing facilities for male members and visitors including lockers, seating and hanging units. In keeping with the traditional style of the historic club, we manufactured and installed lockers with oak frame doors and traditional moulding to the edges; solid oak-top seating with storage underneath; and joinery-construction hanging units.